The Versatile Blogger Award


Dennis Lane of www.dmlbooks.wordpress.com nominated this blog for a Versatile Blogger Award. Some have likened the Versatile Blogger to a chain letter. Others say it’s more like friendship bread. Hey, I’m just happy somebody noticed. I thought I was writing to myself all this time! I’m honored, and happy to pass on the goodness. According to the Rules, I’m supposed to list seven “interesting” things about myself and nominate 15 other bloggers. *pauses for maniacal laughter*

Thanks to Mr. Lane for tagging me in his Versatile Blogger post — and also for running a cool site, as well as lending awesomeness to other sites such as Limebird.

Seven interesting things about me, in no particular order:

1.My first copy of James Clavell’s Shogun floated out to sea as my father’s boat sank miles off the Florida coast. Had to buy another copy.
2. My life’s only traffic accident occurred on a bridge in Longare, Italy. (no injuries)
3. I learned to play the mandolin in Baghdad, Iraq, and played it with a bluegrass band at General David Petraeus’s farewell celebration.
4. In February, 1998, I suffered from hypothermia for the second time in my life after swimming in Drowning Creek, at Camp McCall, North Carolina, during military training. (For my first bout of hypothermia, see #1.)
5. In the past twenty-five years of driving, my only traffic citation was issued for driving an extremely well-equipped Jeep Wrangler down a closed interstate highway just west of Cheyenne, Wyoming, during a blizzard. My wife was in labor with our second child in Utah, and I didn’t want to miss it. I was the only vehicle in sight, except for that very angry highway patrolman. (Unlike my Jeep, his Dodge Durango had some trouble with the road-moguls.)
6. Hablo espanol con facilidad, parlo un po d’Italiano, to watashi-wa sukoshi Nihon-go ga hanasemasu. (I’m decent with languages.)
7. As a veteran of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars, I’ve been shot at, but never been shot.

15 Favorite Blogs

Some of these I subscribe to and read regularly. Others I enjoy periodically. I recommend them all.

1. John Scalzi’s blog: Whatever
2. Kristen Lamb is encouraging.
3. The Great John Kessel.
4. Kelly Link. She’s just fun.
5. My Mom. Because at sixty, she can still ride and shoot better than any man I know.
6. Let’s face it. We all need mystical earthquake protection.
7. Besides being devastatingly beautiful, Theodora Goss writes great fiction.
8. James Patrick Kelly reads books. to you. for free. What’s not to like?
9. Words cannot describe the awesomeness that is Mur Lafferty. Be sure to put some Escape Pod in your ears.
10. Alisdair Stuart narrates one of my favorite podcasts, Pseudopod. It’s horrible, and it’s all TRUE.
11. David Brin. Enough said.
12. Holly Lisle posts good writerly advice, etc.
13. Neil Gaiman’s Journal, available for us mortals.
14. Randy Ingermanson is a busy, busy man.
15. David Batista is a writer.

The rules

Rules follow, but I strongly suggest breaking any rules having to do with writing that you can get away with. (Ending with a preposition–I just broke one!)

1. In a post on your, blog, nominate 15 fellow bloggers for The Versatile Blogger Award.

2. In the same post, add the Versatile Blogger Award.

3. In the same post, thank the blogger who nominated you in a post with a link back to their blog.

4. In the same post, share seven completely random pieces of information about yourself.

5. In the same post, include this set of rules.

6. Inform each nominated blogger of their nomination by posting a comment on each of their blogs. (Or post to Twitter.)

One response to “The Versatile Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

