Wedding Crashers

Wedding Crashers

My reaction to reading about yet another U.S. drone strike on a Yemeni WEDDING:

Gen. Dwight Eisenhower: “Beware of the Military Industrial Complex.”

Gen. Omar Bradley: “The world has achieved brilliance without conscience. Ours is a world of nuclear giants and ethical infants. We know more about war than we know about peace, more about killing than we know about living. If we continue to develop our technology without wisdom or prudence, our servant may prove to be our executioner.”

During George Bush’s administration, while I was serving in Iraq–a war I didn’t believe in–I started to get the feeling America was becoming something different than the nation I grew up with. Increasingly, I see my country becoming something I don’t identify with anymore: an aggressive global empire more concerned with maintaining the status quo (cheap oil, cheap Chinese plastic, cheap fast food, convenience over significance, fiscal negligence). I wonder if we, as a nation, have our brains engaged beyond what’s right in front of our faces.

Who do we want to be, America? Can we please wake up now?

Leave a Reply

